The British Columbia Product Stewardship Council (BCPSC) is a coalition of BC regional districts that are responsible for solid waste management and waste reduction, recycling and reuse initiatives within their jurisdictions. 


The BCPSC was established in 2001 under the auspices of the Union of BC Municipalities (UBCM) to advise the province on the effectiveness of existing Extended Producer Responsibility (EPR) programs and to recommend products for future programs. Nine of BC’s 27 regional districts participated, along with staff from UBCM and the Ministry of Environment. After only a few meetings, the council became inactive. Revitalized in 2006, the council now serves all of BC’s 28 regional districts.

  1. To support the shift of BC’s product waste management system from one focused on government-funded and ratepayer-financed waste diversion to one that relies on producer responsibility and improved product design.
  2. To provide a forum for the exchange of information regarding existing and proposed Extended Producer Responsibility (EPR) Programs in BC.
  3. To provide information to the stewardship agencies of BC regarding the effectiveness of existing EPR programs within regional districts.
  4. To ensure all BC regional districts have an opportunity to be represented and have a voice on the council.
  5. To gather and share pertinent information from product stewardship councils and other related organizations within BC and in other jurisdictions.
  1. To provide local government input into  EPR plans throughout BC.
  2. To optimize information sharing and networking among members and other waste reduction and recycling agencies and societies, and to share tactics and tools such as template bylaws, newsletters, articles, policy briefings, and presentations.
  3. To provide a forum for ongoing dialogue between local governments and stewardship agencies on program operations and other related issues.

Alberni Clayoquot Regional District
Capital Regional District
Cariboo Regional District
Central Coast Regional District
Columbia Shuswap Regional District
Fraser Valley Regional District
Metro Vancouver
Peace River Regional District
qathet Regional District (formally Powell River Regional District)
Regional District of Bulkley-Nechako
Regional District of Central Kootenay
Regional District of Central Okanagan
Regional District of Comox Strathcona
Regional District of Cowichan Valley
Regional District of East Kootenay
Regional District of Fraser Fort George
Regional District of Kitimat Stikine
Regional District of Kootenay Boundary
Regional District of Mount Waddington
Regional District of Nanaimo
Regional District of North Okanagan
Regional District of Okanagan Similkameen
North Coast Regional District
Regional District of Squamish-Lillooet
Sunshine Coast Regional District
Thompson-Nicola Regional District

Northern Rockies Regional Municipality


Council members generally meet four times a year by conference call to discuss industry and council issues. They also meet once yearly in person at the Recycling Council of BC’s Zero Waste Conference.

For more information please use our contact page.